How did I get here?

1 Nov

Well, I guess my title kind of says where I’m going with this. I’ve been on a very long journey. From childhood to adulthood, nothing has been easy. Instead of focusing on my nasty childhood and past, I’m trying to focus on the present. I’m blessed with a very supportive Husband and three amazing kids. I’m not sure what I would do without them! They have brought me to where I am today and have made me realize how important life truly is. Mental illness is not a choice. Why some of us are chosen, I’m not sure. Is it a chemical imbalance or something inherited? Professional help is key, as well as a good support system. It’s hard and I think that less of a stigma is around it. Not to say we aren’t still stigmatized in ways. But we all have a chance to stand up and speak to what we believe in. We don’t have to become the disease! We can learn to live with it. Again, professional help and a support system is so important!! Sure, your first appointment or discussion with someone you trust is tough. But once you get past that, you will be good! You’ll be relieved. It feels good to get these thoughts out of your head. Sure, there are always set backs, but you will be stronger. You will be able to handle it. Just keep going! You only get one life to live, so live it!

Leave a Reply

